top of page

Defeat for Lichfield City in the Playoff Final

Lichfield City’s incredible home run this season came to an end as they lost 3-1 to Darlaston Town in the Midlands Football League playoff final.

The tie attracted a record attendance at the Trade Tyre Community Stadium of 1,110, but it simply wasn’t Lichfield’s day – as Lewi Burnsides second-half header was cancelled out by goals from Kieran Cook, Joshua Jones and a late winner from Kieron Miller.

Following their J.W. Hunt Cup semi-final win on Thursday night (2nd May), Ivor Green and Wayne Chapman put a refreshed lineup out for the promotion clash, however Jude Taylor kept his place in the City front-line.

Darlaston Town took the lead after just two minutes as Lichfield lost possession of the ball, allowing Kieran Cook to break in behind and aim his shot past James Beeson.

Luke Childs then forced a fingertip save from the Darlaston Keeper in an effort to strike back, before shots from Lewi Burnside and Liam Kirton flew just off target.

But Darlaston then doubled their lead after 29 minutes, as the visitors broke down the left and whipped a ball onto the head of Joshua Jones who struck Darlaston’s second.

Kirton shook the left post from a tight angle, but the deficit remained at two goals after two minutes of stoppage time.

Lewi Burnside pulled a goal back for Lichfield as the second half resumed with a fantastic back-post header from Jack Edwards’ curling ball in from the left.

Demetri Brown forced a flying save from Allsop which forced a corner, but Edwards’ ball in was poked away from goal, before Darlaston broke in behind from a last-ditch effort and made it 3-1.

Despite the promotion heartache, Lichfield have enjoyed an incredible season of football which has seen them reach new heights in the FA Vase and their league finish in the regular season.

City still have one more opportunity to win some silverware before the end of the season, when they head to the Molineux on May 21st to defend their J.W. Hunt Cup title.

City: Beeson ©, Burnside, Clement (Griffin), Elkes, McMenemy, Lewis, Edwards, Dunn (Brown), Taylor, Kirton, Childs.

Subs: Wykes, Holt, Francis.

Attendance: 1,110 (Record)


249 views0 comments


bottom of page